Monday December 11th, 2023
Download SceneNow app

10 New Cabinet Ministers Appointed

President Abdel Fattah el-Sisi swears in 10 new ministers after a partial reshuffle of the Egyptian cabinet.

Staff Writer

The Egyptian cabinet has just undergone a partial reshuffle, with 10 new ministers sworn in earlier today by President Abdel Fattah el-Sisi, reports Ahram Online.

Former Justice Minister Ahmad El Zend – who was relieved of his position following his controversial comments about Prophet Muhammad – is to be succeeded by Judge Hossam AbdulReheem. The reshuffles also include the Ministries of Investment and Finance, which are to be headed by Dalia Khorshid and Amr El Garhy respectively.

The changes have seen the dismissal of now-former Manpower Minister Gamal Sorour, Irrigation Minister Hossam Moghazi, Tourism Minister Hisham Zaazou, Antiquities Minister Mamdouh El Damaty, Transportation Minister Saad El Geyoushi, and Civil Aviation Minister Hossam Kamal. Their respective cabinet posts went to Mohamed Saafan, Mohamed AbdulAtty, Mohamed Yehia Rashed, Khaled El-Anany, Galal El Saeed, and Sherif Fathy. Ashraf El Sharqawy was also appointed Business Sector Minister.       

The move comes days before Prime Minister Sherif Ismail is scheduled address to parliament detailing his government’s programme.    

(Photo Credit: Reuters/Philippe Wojazer)